Embassy of the RS Warsaw /Newsroom /

Important information regarding border controls at Slovenian borders

The border between Italy and Slovenia

From 11 March 2020, entry into Slovenia from Italy is restricted. Six checkpoints have been set up: Rateče, Robič, Vrtojba, Škofije, Fernetici and Krvavi Potok. All other border crossings will close.

Slovenia has not closed its border with Italy but is to impose health checks of passengers. There are no restrictions for Slovenian citizens. Entry control at the Slovenian-Italian border is carried out in the case of persons who are not Slovenian citizens or who do not have a permanent or temporary residence in the Republic of Slovenia.

Persons crossing the border will be required to submit certificates issued by a competent authority and indicating that they tested negative for the coronavirus. The certificate must be issued in the Slovenian, English or Italian languages and must not be older than three days. Persons without proper certificates may be denied entry into the territory of the Republic of Slovenia.

Slovenia closed the Slovenian-Italian border on 12 March 2020 for all bus, rail and freight traffic. The exceptions are freight transport of medical supplies and equipment, philanthropic assistance and mail. The closure of the border does not apply to freight traffic with a final destination in Slovenia,

Other borders

At Jože Pučnik Airport Ljubljana, a system for measuring the body temperature of passengers arriving in Slovenia has been introduced.

At the borders with other neighbouring countries, the Republic of Slovenia does not currently carry out enhanced controls.